top of page

Lost in Japanese fashion


Konichiwa!

You guys probably thought I was lying dead somewhere far from home where nobody could find me. I must disappoint you, I'm not involved in a crime scene, I'm just at home and since I'm writing this blogpost; I guess I'm not dead. Unless I'm writing you from heaven, or whatever there may be after death, although that chance would be small, not to say non-existent.

Anyhow, I'm here now! (lol that rhymes)

If you follow me on Instagram, you may have noticed my trip to Japan. Although it was an incredible vacation and although we've seen A LOT in only 2 weeks, I'm going to spare you the details. Unless you guys really want to see our planning and what we've done! But for now, I present you a blog about my outfits.

Astrid, really? Again? An outfit blog?

YASSS FOR SUUUREEEE!

I had sooo much fun putting all these outfits together, making new combinations and so on, I really have to share my faves! I have to be honest, I took my ootd to the next level. I even made a whole planning about when I was going to wear what. Plus the ootd planning wasn't just random, the outfits were all matched to the activities; at the robot restaurant, I was wearing robot earrings for example.

I'm not going to waste anymore of your precious time and get right into it!

 

Sweet as sugar, cold as ice

This very, very catchy outfit seemed perfect for a day in Harajuku, the fashion district of Tokyo and the one with the Kawaii style. Huh? Astrid? WTF is that Kawablablabla style? Well, it's a typical Japanese fashion style with accompanying subculture. The idea is to look cute, innocent and elegant. The style is very colorful and happy. Although there also are more dark trends.

What I'm wearing: a bright purple pencil skirt with a white macaron chemise tied up. I chose to combine it with my white platform sandals and my pink Furla handbag. To top off everything, I added some fake pink/purple colored hair. (to make it a little bit more kawaii)

We're all basic bitches

To be honest, this skirt isn't really a go-to skirt of mine. It's designed and hand made by me and normally it's with a matching top. But as I already mentioned, my closet got turned upside down and so were my 'normal' combi's. I found this light green top in a box with my mom's old clothes and I simply love it! For this outfit, the goal was to keep it simple. I guess I managed to do that. A simple outfit, but not boring, not at all.

What I'm wearing: a green purple top with a white pencil skirt topped off with a blue zipper on the back. The matching bra you see peeping out from under my skirt is from La Perla. The shoes are just simple silver sandals. On top of all that, I just have some pearls in my hair and a classic white handbag.

You can do anything ... when you're in pink

PIIIIINKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

Wearing a shitload pink, and still this outfit isn't that girly at all. To all the girls out there who loveeee streetstyle but still want to show their inner girlyness, this is your time to shine. Because of the sporty shorts and the 90's vibe they bring along, it can be street and girly at the very same time.

What I'm wearing: this purple Nike short I was just talking about looks stunning with this pink, you can maybe even call it marble looking, see-through top. Since the top is see-through, I wore a pink matching bra from the same brand as the other one. These Karl sneakers are my real go-to, it brings even more spiciness to it. This outfit hasn't that many accessories, except for the white Nike socks that make everything a lil' more sporty.

A woman with class is timeless

To my feeling, this is the most classic Japan outfit. I think a lot of Japanese people would wear this. Why? Well, it's a quite simple outfit and still everything fits together like a puzzle. Although the blouse is dark green, the black and white pattern keeps returning and holds everything together. It's like tape.

What I'm wearing: the black & white skirt is combined with a dark green see-through blouse. Underneath the blouse, the Calvin Klein top that is also in black and white makes sure that the outfit doesn't fall apart in a million pieces. Also the handbag is white, so the pattern keeps returning.

The best for the last

Saved the best for the last, as you may notice!

It is awful. Just awful. I don't even know what I was thinking at the moment. Oh wait ... maybe I do know: "Astrid, just put everything on what doesn't fit in your suitcase, everything will be alright, just make sure the candy fits in!"

Sorry not sorry.

I loved every single outfit, and every single moment.

Kisses, Astrid

xoxo

bottom of page