top of page

3 Story


Christmas is lurking around the corner while I'm still running around like a chicken without a head to get the all the gifts for my loved ones. I bet I'm not the only one stuck in this situation. While you're chasing around stores, just remember that the gifts are not what Christmas is actually about. But I would be lying if I said getting presents isn't fun! What I personally like about this time of the year are the lights in the street lighting up the dark days.

But most of all, the Christmas tree in the living room fully decorated with lights and balls - Christmas balls, to be more specific. There are so many kinds of trees, white themed, red, blue, green and so on and so on. Well our tree is actually none of previous examples. It may to be the most beautiful one you've ever seen, but maybe also the most sentimental one. Not in a 'crying' way, but our tree is a display of previous travels. There are not just balls hanging in there, no they are balls with a story. I'm going to present you some of them and talk about their origin and maybe we can name them...

1)

We bought this Nativity scene in a nutshell last year on our trip to Curaçao. It was on a local market with lots of hand-made, local goods, in the country's capital, Willemstad.

2)

On the same journey, we went to Aruba. When it was time to head back home, we ran in to this little shop on the airport and found out we hadn't bought a Christmas ball yet. Luckily there were many super nice Christmas balls. Say hi to ... euhm Joe.

3)

This former apple was made by a local man we met in South Africa. At the time, we bought two of them, but last year I dropped one. My grandmother and my godmother were so polite to bring a new one from their trip to South Africa. A lil' minus, the apple is molding inside hahahahahah.

4)

We didn't take one with us from every trip, but this heart is symbol for last summer's trip to Australia. I honestly have no idea where the hell we bought that one. I think we bought it at Ayers Rock, from the Aboriginals, the original inhabitants of Australia.

5)

This one we brought with us from Norway about 4 years ago. We were on a cruise through the Northern Fjords. Everyday we docked in a city. This ball we bought at one of the last stops. We made a walk up to a waterfall and walking back to the boat, we passed a couple of shops with local stuff. I even think that's the start of our maybe super weird collection of Christmas ball from our trips.

6)

I can understand you're sick of the travel-ball stories. Well don't worry, this story is quite different from the others. When my mom and dad studied in Chicago, they lived in a building where on the ground floor an assistant and his Scandinavian wife and their four kids lived. Mom earned some extra money by babysitting the four kids. On Christmas, Gertrude, the mother, gave my mother as Christmas gift a typical Scandinavian Christmas ornament from the family. Mom and dad kept it over the years and we still hang it in our Christmas tree, as a reminder of the time they spent with John Lott jr., a gun rights advocate, and his family.

As you can tell, some really great stories are hanging in our Christmas tree. John Lott's Christmas ball, like what the fuck. You want to stay in the Christmas spirit? No worries, I have linked some of my Christmas related blogs of last year.

Don't forget to subscribe and let me know if you liked my post or nah! Also let me know what you want to read or see more on my blog.

Have a holy jolly Christmas y'all!

And a super happy New Year!

Kisses Astrid

xxx

bottom of page