top of page

'The ugly location challenge' ...


A couple days ago I was laying sick in bed and scrolling over YouTube watching the dumbest video's ever. Suddenly I came by a video of 'The ugly location challenge'. After watching a dozen videos, I was like "damn, I freaking need to try this shit out!".

Well, for the ones who don't really understand the challenge, I will explain! The challenge entails that you try to take beautiful, professional pictures at places where you normally don't take them. With that in my mind, I was looking for three unusual places ... Get exiteddddd!

First stop --> Laundromat

For this shoot we went after closing hours of the shops so that there would not be too many people watching. Hahaha, that was a pity. But whatever, that's part of the challenge. Honestly, it was pretty hard shooting good pictures! Fortunately there was a reallyyyy cute girl of five and who really wanted to stand in front of the camera. Luckily our outfits were a match made in heaven! I was a white girl wearing a black dress and she was a black girl wearing a white dress. As I said, a match made in heaven! The idea about the outfit I was wearing was to create a retro style something, 'cause laundromats reminds me of the eighties. So with that in mind, I picked out my long, black polkadot dress from Zara. As shoes, I'm wearing my silver Prada's. To bring back the silver, I'm also wearing a silver Prada belt. For the lipstick, I went bordeaux red, cause the dress is finished with a bordeaux red edge. I loveee the outfit, but as the dress makes me look really thin, the pictures were a bit 'weak'. Here is my favorite picture of this shoot.

Second stop --> Gas Station

For this location I specially chose to go on a Sunday, so the shop would be closed and there wouldn't be too many people staring at me. Soooo, me and my best friend took our bikes out and there we went *they saw me rollin', they hating*. It was soooo weird shooting there. There were always cars coming and going, but we had to do this. As outfit I chose my white, bleu checkered trousers, I combined it with my white t-shirt with a banana face. As jacket, I chose my leather coat, I think it makes it look a bit more spicy and for the shoes I picked my black, high classic All Stars (Lil' side story: honesty I didn't wanted All Stars at all, I have still no idea why. Now I have them, I'm sooo happy, they give an instant eighties feeling and they just go with anything!). To top off the look, I wore a blue bandana in my hair to give the look even more rocky and spicy vibes. I think this one as well is very retro. Anyway, I love the outfit! This one is legit my favorite location, the shooting went sooo well and the result is exactly what I wanted! So you can say I'm pretty happy with it!

Third stop --> Random Farm or something

For this third one, we had to be very creative, it was Sunday, everything was closed so we just biked around looking for random places. We stopped by a small farm or something with a broken wall, a ladder and some agricultural equipment. Because we decided the third stop just on the spot, I didn't bring another outfit. I just put some things together! I'm wearing again my white, blue checkered trousers and my All Stars. For change, I combined it with a plain white t-shirt and a light blue jeans jacket. To top it off, I'm wearing a pair of white old-school socks. I think the photos turned out pretty good (but I have the best photographer!!!) !

These were the three photo-stops for the challenge! I lovedddd doing it! It was very challenging (that's probably why it's called a challenge, isn't it?) Let me know whitch picture, location, outfit, ... is your favorite! Hope you liked it too! Btw, to stay informed, just go the the bottom of the home-page and fill in your e-mail address, it's totally free!!!

Kisses Astrid

xxx


bottom of page