top of page

Storytime --> Beauty and the beast Play <3


Woowww, shiittttt guys, it's been a while since I posted a new blogpost. The last few weeks I was so busy with my schoolwork and all my hobby's, I haven't got the time to write a new blogpost. And honestly, I had noooo idea what I wanted to write about... But here I am again with a new post, one that's t-o-t-a-l-l-y different from my others. Ooh, and by the way, welcome to my blog (again). You guys have probably still no idea what this blogpost is about. Well today, I will tell you a story, a short experience. Lets goooooooo ...

 

A while ago (I think somewhere in May 2017), my mom was looking in the CCHA (Cultural Centrum Hasselt) program booklet for some plays, when she saw an advertisement that the stage group 'Maas' was looking for some kids to appear as supporting actor in their newest play called 'Beauty en het Beest' (in English: 'Beauty and the Beast'). I immediately applied as I was convinced that it would be an unforgettable experience.

The poster :)

Last December, I received an e-mail that I was invited to an audition. I was sooo happy but on the other side super scared for the audition. Barely two weeks later, I got to hear that I did not have to do an audition anymore, I was soooo freakin' happy.

All the kids together

We had two rehearsals before 'the big day'. The first day (afternoon), we practiced the group-scenes. We had 5 big group-scenes and each child had one solo scene. We had a very close group with all the kids, we were able to get along with each other very well! The second rehearsal was on the 'big day'. First we took a look at the big theater hall and then it was time to work. We started by rehearsing what we learned the other day and then learned the solo-scenes. In my solo-scene, I was a rose girl. I had to bring the father of Beauty a rose to give to his daughter Beauty. After that, we had outfit fittings. I had to wear a black jumpsuit with a white top underneath it. I think it was very pretty! Afterwards, they did our hair in braids, buns and pony-tails. I had a great hairstyle, it was a 'Game of Thrones' look, with on the top of my head three breads to the back and then loose hair. When everyone's hair was done, we went eating together with the professional actors. All filled up with good food, we started to warm up our bodies and our voices. After that, we practiced our scenes one last time, but this time WITH the professional actors.

The kids & the actors

It was almost showtime! The doors went open and all those 500 people took their seats, while I was full of stress sitting on a chair studying my lessons for the next day. Our first scene was already in the beginning of the play. I was soooo stressed because I really fucked up our repetition. But as soon as we went on stage, the stress was gone and it made room for lots, lots , lots , lots , lots of adrenaline! From then, time was going soooo fast. Suddenly, we were dancing the final dance on stage with all the actors and the choir, who sang all the songs and the music in the play. Time flies when you'r having fun, they say and it's so, so, so, so ,soooooo true! If I could, I would do it all again! The adrenaline is like a kind drugs for me. I stay in a vibe, a vibe that you can't really describe, you have to participate in order to feel it.

I really want to thank everyone for this great adventure! Literally everyone! Also a big thanks to my great friends Laura, Charlotte and Sapho for being there to support me. That meant a lot to me!

If you ever see a call to participate as a supporting actor in a play, then please take the chance. It's sooooo worth it (and let me know too, then we can do it together ;)).

I really hope you liked my blogpost! Please let me know if you like this kind of blogposts, then I can do it more often! Make sure u check out my other blogposts and don't forget to subscribe at the bottom of the home page. It's totally free! Lots of love!

Kisses Astrid

xxx

( A couple more pictures ;) )

Picture after the show :)

With a couple of the actors!

bottom of page