top of page

My trip to paradise <3


Curacao and Aruba

My summer vacation this year went to the Caribbean’s. I really looked forward to this! Pearl white beaches, clear bleu ocean and the sun! It was everything I expected to be!

We leaved Thursday the 15th of August. I had to get up so damned early. The bus picked us up at 4AM, fuck my life, at this hour I just want to sleep. We drove for like 3hours to the airport Schiphol, Amsterdam. The first 5 days we where staying at Curacao. We flew with KLM, it was a pretty nice flight! Our seats where totally in the back of the plane, so we had much space to stand up and walk a bit. The little televisions in our seat were broke for half the flight, yup that’s how my life is , but anyway, it was nice! Ooh btw, we had a flight of, I think 9:30hours. And then, the best moment of every vacation … walking out of the plane, the heat of the sun, burning on your skin. Yup. That’s what I like. The bus was waiting for us to bring us to our hotel and at that moment, my vacation began :)

We stayed in ‘Sunscape resort’ at Curacao for the next 5 days. There were plenty activities you could do in the hotel! You had the chance to do a water sport for 1hour everyday, like peddle boarding, kayaking, snorkelling. Beside these things the animation team did many activity’s like a quiz, bingo, beach party, … The hotel had plenty pools, I don’t know exactly how much, but that doesn’t matter. In the mean pool was a bar in the water, so you could sit on a ‘chair’ by a ‘table’ in the pool with your drinks, pretty nice I guess. We had a giant room, if I would I could do ballet in it, but I can’t o ballet, so I didn’t try it. Most of the time, we stayed in the hotel swimming, drinking cocktails, snorkelling, drinking more cocktails, eating and participating the activities.

We did 3 trips out of the hotel. The first one was a half day in ‘Willemstad’ the capital of Curacao. Willemstad is a very small authentic city. It’s well known of the ‘Puntjesbrug’ the longest floating bridge in the world and the colourful houses. For our second trip we rented a car (if you can even call it a car, it was more like a big metal thing with 4 wheels. I was thinking that our car in South-Africa was bad, but this was even worser) today we were going to do a roadtrip. Our fist stop was by the ‘Hato caves’, we did a tour in the super hot caves and learned quit a lot about their culture. For our next stop we drove to the flamingo’s, waauw, these animals are sooo pretty, so elegant, they’re stunning. After all these visits we were melting, it was so hot. So we all the way to the west punt to a little beach. It was soooo cute there, so colourful, it was a typical Caribbean beach. The water so bleu and the sand so white. Before we went swimming and snorkelling, we ate something. After we where cooled, we drove to another beach, at this beach are sometime turtles in the sea. And believe it or not, I swam with 3 different turtles, they where like so close! It was a magical experience and a unique because the turtles are threatened with extinction. After all these experiences, we drove back to the hotel and drank some cocktails in the pool by sunset. Our last trip, was just a short one, to Mambo beach. A beach with music and lot of bars and shops!

On Sunday we had our flight to Aruba, but because of the terrible weather that was caused by Hurricane Harley, our flight had delay. After waiting 4hours on the airport we flew for 30 minutes to Aruba. At the airport, the bus was waiting to bring us to the hotel.

In Aruba we stayed in the ‘Divi & Tamarin hotel’. This hotel was huge, it had a beach of more than 1 freaking kilometre, like wtf. There where golf cars that drove you through the hotel. Also in this hotel were so much activities, but I have no idea what, the only thing I did was swimming, eating, drinking cocktails and repeat. I did one activity, karaoke evening :) Our room was on the beach with sea view off course. Every morning I woke up at 6 so I could watch the sunrise.

Also on Aruba we did 4 trips. The first one was in the evening to ‘Oranjestad’ the capital of Aruba. We did some shops: Hard Rock, Gucci, Zara but we couldn’t do much shopping because the stores where closing. That was a pity. Our second trip was a jeep safari on the wild side of the island. This was so amazing, I got no words for it! So real, so wild, so dry. I loveeeeee it. In the jeep you could open the ‘ceiling’, with the wind in our hair we cruised through the desert and did some off road. This was soooooo damned nice. We visited the lighthouse, the baby bridge. This bridge is totally natural, made by the sea. We visited the gold mine and ate something at a range. Then we drove to baby beach and snorkelled a bit. Our last trip went back to ‘Oranjestad’ for some shopping!!!

This vacation was an amazing experience, I loved it! No words for this! But is was fantastic, if I could l would go back! If you ever have the chance to go to these islands, please do it, you will not regret it! It was the most relaxed vacation ever! Thanks to Zizi for the amazing tips, your country is amazing, be proud of it!

Specially for you guys, I worked super hard on a after movie! I’m not that good in making videos and editing, but if you like it pleaseeeee let me know. Maybe I do it again if you like it. You can find it down here and on my You tube channel 'Very me, very Astrid' it calls 'My trip to paradise'. ENJOY

Kisses Astrid

xxx

bottom of page